News & Stories

MAP Fund Announces 2015 Grantee Class

April 28, 2015

The Map Fund proudly announces the selection of 37 new works in contemporary performing arts that will receive a total of $1.2 million in direct support for project development, creation and premiere through 2017.

Primarily supported by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation with additional funds from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and administered by Creative Capital, the MAP Fund was established in 1989 and has supported over 1,000 new works of performance with a total of $27 million, making it among the longest-running grant programs in arts philanthropy. Grants range from $20,000 to $40,000, with additional funds provided for general operating expenses and artists' professional development. 

Today MAP also announces a new effort to encourage individuals to support performance through online platforms linked directly to artists. Program Director, Moira Brennan said, "The MAP grant is significant for the dollars it provides, as well as for its imprimatur. But the truth is that creating any new work depends on many individuals and institutions coming together at a meaningful moment in that work's development. We hope others will consider supporting these powerful projects at this time, to help bring them to their full realization."

MAP Fund 2015 Grantee Projects:


About the selection process

MAP Fund awardees are selected through an intensive, three-phase application process. In September 2014, MAP issued an open call for Letters of Inquiry and received 825 applications. Working with 62 curators, programmers and other arts professionals from around the country, MAP invited 514 of those projects to submit full proposals. 216 of those proposals moved to the panel review stage, where panelists selected the 37 funded projects. The 2015 MAP Fund panelists are:

Ambrose AkinmusireArtist (CA / NY)
Beth Boone, Artistic and Executive Director, Miami Light Project (FL)
Brad Carlin, Managing Director, Fusebox Festival (TX)
Jean Cook, Musician, Producer and Director of Programs, Future of Music Coalition (DC / NY)
Jess Edkins, Creative Producer, Performance Space 122 (NY)
Miguel GutierrezArtist (NY)
Caleb Hammons, Associate Producer, Fisher Center for the Performing Arts and Co-Curator, CATCH (NY)
Joshua Kohl, Co-Founder and Co-Director, Degenerate Art Ensemble (WA)
Cynthia Oliver, Artistic Director, Cynthia Oliver Co. Dance Theatre and Professor of Dance, University of Illinois (IL)
Cristal Chanelle Truscott, Artistic Director/Playwright and Founder, Progress Theatre(TX)
Kinan Valdez, Producing Artistic Director, El Teatro Campesino (CA)
Renae Williams Niles, Vice President of Programming, The Music Center (CA)
Stephanie Ybarra, Director of Special Artistic Projects, The Public Theater (NY)

Learn more at

Back to Listing